ethnography, research

My newest publication: Language Ideologies in the digital conversations of bilinguals

Christiansen, M. S. (2016). ‘¡Hable Bien M’ijo o Gringo o Mx!’: language ideologies in the digital communication practices of transnational Mexican bilinguals, published online first. DOI: 10.1080/13670050.2016.1181603

My new publication examines Facebook conversations between members of a transnational social network of US- and Mexico-born English/Spanish bilinguals. I used the concepts of symbolic power and language ideologies to explore how members establish identity and membership differently depending on whether they communicate primarily in Spanish or English. The findings of this study also reveal that Facebook is an empowering space where bilingualism is the linguistic capital necessary for full membership in their transnational community.

This is the link to my new publication. Check it out.  To see a complete list of my publications, visit my Academia pagemy Google Citations page, or my ORCID page.